Lee County 4-0 After Beating Hoke 24-6

The Lee County Yellow Jackets rode their defense to a non-conference win on the road last night by a score of 24-6 to improve to 4-0 on the season.    Larry Baldwin led the Jacket rushing with 76 yards on 16 carries, but it was the Jacket defense that changed the game.   With Hoke County driving on their 1st possession of the 2nd half and only down 14-6, Sincere Goldston picked off a Hoke pass and returned it 49 yards to the Hoke 9.   The Yellow Jackets then scored on a 10-yard pass to Tyric McKendall to push the lead to 21-6 and took control of the game.    Lee County’s leading rusher AJ Boulware was injured on the 1st carry of the night and missed the remainder of the game.    After a 3-game road stretch, Lee County will return home this Friday night and will host Wilson Fike at Paul Gay Stadium.


Lee County        14     0     7     3     24

Hoke County      0      6     0     0      6

Scoring Summary

LC – Colin Johnson 13 run (Trey Underwood kick)

LC – Johnson 18 pass to Jackson Lamb (Underwood kick)

HC – Avery 9 run (kick failed)

LC – Johnson 10 pass to Tyric McKendall (Underwood kick)

LC – Underwood 26 FG


LC – Baldwin 16-76, Johnson 10-27, Marcus Gray 7-10, Boulware 1-1   Totals  34-114

HC – Keonte Shaw 18-59   Team Totals 26-66


LC – Johnson 10-21-142

HC – Jada McGill 12-22-154


LC – McKendall 5-68, Jason Berdecia 2-19, Jackson Lamb 1-18, Landon Johnson 1-31, Tim Lett 1-6   Team Totals 10-142

  • The Lee Defense had 3 interceptions in the 2nd half.   Goldston’s that set up a Lee touchdown, and interceptions by Jayden Marshall and Jackson Lamb both stopped Hoke drives and kept Lee County in control.
  • Larry Baldwin was tremendous defensively once again and with his 76 yards rushing was named the Normann Financial Group Player of the Game for Lee County.
  • The interception by Sincere Goldston was the F&W Playhouse Play of the Game for Lee County.
  • Lee County will start a two game home stretch this Friday with consecutive home games with Wilson Fike and Anson County.

Share this Article